Help!! 1st days of Middle School!

Hi Guys,

So after 6 years of teaching high school I’m choosing to jump into the Middle School arena. Wise? Crazy? Insane? Depends who you talk to. Seems as if there’s a love/hate relationship out there between teachers and middle schoolers: teachers either love them or hate them! One of my colleagues (now in H.S.) described his experience as corralling a box full of ping pong balls that had been emptied onto the floor. Be that as it may, I feel compelled to try to strengthen Middle School math instruction. Can 1 person make a difference?

My new teaching assignment is a Math/Science position wherein I have a class for 2 hours. Yes…2 hours, everyday. I’m free to mix up the instruction to be integrated or separate Math and Science components and my hope is to focus more on the math piece. So, can somebody help me with the following questions?

1. What can I expect on the first couple of days and throughout the year in terms of attitude and behavior?

2. What can I do during the first 3 days to set a positive and productive tone for the year?

Thanks!

Josh

3 thoughts on “Help!! 1st days of Middle School!

  1. I was in a middle school for 18 years and I love it! 6 graders are still in principle elementary students. Eight graders think they are high schoolers and 7 graders have no idea were they are yet! The hormones will be up and down specially during spring (worse than high school) so you have to treat them very patiently. The first thing do is to make the classroom expectations very clear and do not go back on your word. Late work and all of that, ask other teachers but use your judgment. But is exciting that you get to mix math and science, there is so much potential! If you look at the science standards they have a math connection on the bottom of each page, you can do a full unit in space station when you are teaching the solar system and so much more. For every experiment ask them to do graph and represent their data in different ways?
    The first days of school tell them that you are going to teach a little like if they were in high school to get them extra ready, they will love that! And how about a game like scavenger hunt, you can make it any way you want. It could be rules, thing around the room, questions to get to know their group, etc. I hope I was not too annoying and hopefully this will help.

  2. I actually did my student teaching as well as my first year of teaching at a middle school. And to be honest, I really did love it. The only reason that I moved to high school is because I love a lot of the extra curricular activities at the high school level and I feel like I can connect a little better with the older age group. But, I can honestly say if I ever had to go back to a middle school I wouldn’t mind it in the least. The biggest piece of advice that I have is, whatever way you decide to teach the math and science, mixed or separate, I would highly suggest keeping it that way a majority of the time. Middle school students need repetition, there are so many other things changing in their lives, that it is nice to have some consistency. Also, when I taught at the middle school I had “helpers.” They would take attendance for me, pass back papers for me, give assignments to students who were absent, etc. It made my life a lot easier and many of them really enjoyed the responsibility. Most importantly, keep your energy level up, it’ll help keep them focused on you and engaged in what you are doing. Good Luck!

  3. Josh, I taught some middle school also but I leave any advise for the other teacher to add. As you discussed your ideas with your group during class, I heard a lot of good ideas. Your focus on how to handle homework and check mastery is a very good start.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *